Parents and high school students reminded of Ohio’s liquor law | Education

Officers from the Ohio Investigative Unit and the Ohio Division of Liquor Control remind high school students not to use drugs or alcohol at graduation celebrations. Officers are also encouraging parents to refrain from providing alcohol or a place to consume alcohol.

“Having a graduation party with alcohol doesn’t give your kids and their friends a safe place to congregate,” Senior Law Enforcement Commander Erik Lockhart said in a press release. . “Adults who choose to throw a party with drugs and alcohol not only face jail time, fines and civil lawsuits; but could ultimately be responsible for loss of life.

To help promote good choices, parents and teens should understand Ohio’s underage drinking laws.

It is illegal to provide your child and their friends with a place to drink in a “safe” environment. Indeed, parents cannot supply alcohol to children under 21 who are not their own, even at home with the authorization of the other parents. Those convicted of supplying alcohol to someone under the age of 21 face a maximum sentence of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

It is illegal to buy alcohol from anyone under the age of 21. Anyone who buys, sells or gives alcoholic beverages to minors faces a $1,000 fine and/or up to six months in jail.

If you are under 21 and caught driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.02% or higher, a level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you may be arrested. The penalty is suspension of your driver’s license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years, plus four points added to your driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is also illegal.

Take-out and drive-through establishments must be on alert for minors attempting to purchase alcohol, the statement said, and the DOLC reminds licensees and liquor agency stores of their responsibility to ensure that they do not sell or serve to minors under 21.

“These celebrations can turn into tragedies when combined with alcoholic beverages and can have lifelong effects on teens, their families and communities,” DOLC Superintendent Jim Canepa said in the statement. “Taking action to stop the sale of alcoholic beverages to underage consumers can help keep teens and communities safe.”

Anyone with information about a bar, shop, or store selling beer and/or liquor to people under 21, or if you have information about an underage house party , must call the Ohio Investigation Unit by calling #677 on your cell phone.

Joshua B. Speller